The Skull

The skull is a bony frame of the head of human beings and other animals with backbones. It is a case made up of bones that enclose the brain and bones that form the face.

The human skull has 22 bones, eight of which are called the cranial bones. The cranial bones are also called "the braincase".

These are the names of the cranial bones: Occipital, which is at the back of the skull; Sphenoid, which is at the base of the skull; two Parietal bones, at the top and sides; two Temporal bones, above the ears; the Frontal, at the top of the forehead; and the Ethmoid, at the nose.

The other fourteen bones are facial bones. All the bones except the Mandible, which is another name for jawbone, are connected.